Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Help! Log cabin with 2x roof
jp0639
# Posted: 29 May 2024 14:32

16x16 full scribe scandanavian saddle notched, out of red pine. Logs walls only, opted for a 2x roof system as this is a solo operation and will be moving it into the bush. Currently trying to flush out some details. I am a former mil pilot with a head injury..not a builder.

Looking at: 10/12 slope, 2x12x16 ridge, 2x10 24 o.c for first 8ā€™ (loft w/ dormer) and hoping to figure out how to do 48ā€ for joists through the remaining 8ā€™. Will use simpson strong ties at ridge and joist.

Any help would be appreciated

DaveBell
# Posted: 29 May 2024 14:43

Don't attach the loft joists to the wall studs, nail or screw a shorter 2x10 to the wall stud and put the loft joist on top of the added stud to transfer the load to the foundation.

jp0639
# Posted: 29 May 2024 15:28 - Edited by: jp0639

So a mini wall out of 2x10s sitting on top of the log wall?

ICC
# Posted: 29 May 2024 21:48

..... the wall studs

What studs? Is this not a true log-walled structure? Or what am I missing?

But that does raise the question of the sizing of the loft floor joists for the 16 foot span.

16 x 16 foot outside dimensions? What mean diameter logs for the walls?

ICC
# Posted: 29 May 2024 21:56

So the loft floor joists will restrain the outward forces from the rafters to the sidewalls. I am not a log builder so do not know how stiff scribed log and saddle notched sidewalls can be, though I suspect quite stiff. My question is how they will stand up to the outward forces in the non-lofted end? Any idea on that? What sort of snow loads, though the 10/12 pitch will help with that and also reduce the outward rafter tail forces?

Thinking about the desire for 48" rafter spacing???? What sort of roof sheathing would be used? Most commonly used materials would not be suitable for a 48" span.

Brettny